MMUF Designated Fields

Below are the fields of study for which a student may be awarded the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship.

  • Anthropology
  • Area/Cultural/Ethnic/Gender Studies
  • Art History
  • Classics
  • Geography and Population Studies
  • English Language & Literature
  • Cinema and Media Studies
  • Musicology, Ethnomusicology and Music Theory
  • Foreign Languages and Literatures
  • History
  • Linguistics
  • Performance Studies & Theater (theoretical focus)
  • Philosophy
  • Sociology

Interdisciplinary areas of study may be eligible if they have one or more eligible fields at their core, but must be approved by the MMUF director, Elise LaRose. (Please note that interdisciplinary graduate programs are not eligible for MMUF graduate benefits.

More information at